The Good Samaritan Family

The congregation of the Sisters of the Good Samaritan ( was in 1857 founded in Sydney by the first Catholic Bishop of Australia, Archbishop John Bede Polding OSB. It was the first congregation of religious women founded in Australia and was based on the rule of St Benedict. Ten years later, the Sisters established Rosebank College at Five Dock.

Rosebank College is part of a network of ten Good Samaritan Colleges in Australia. These are:

Each College has their own distinct spirit, however they are all committed to engaging in mutual support and provide extensive formation programs for students and staff.

Principals, staff, students, parents, Board of Directors and Members of the Company work together with the Members of Good Samaritan Education to develop educational communities where all are valued and welcomed.

As part of our Good Samaritan heritage, the College supports a number of Good Samaritan Ministries. These include:

  • The Good Samaritan Early Childhood Centre, Kiribati
  • Our Lady of Fatima Senior High School, Timor Leste
  • Santa Teresa Mission, Norther Territory
  • Good Samaritan Housing, Brisbane
  • Good Samaritan Kinder School, Philippines